What To Wear On A City Break

Packing for any holiday is a difficult task, but for a city break it is ten times harder. When you visit a city, you usually visit to see lots of touristy attractions and experience bustling city life rather than relax around the pool like on a beach break. You want to be cute but practical, you need to be comfortable but cutting edge… there are a whole list of contradictory terms that you need to encapsulate into one outfit.

I’m lucky to have gone to a fair few cities recently such as New York, Dublin, Liverpool and London, and I feel like during my recent visit to Dublin I really perfected my city wear wardrobe. I thought I’d share a few photos with you as well as my top tips on how to go through your wardrobe and decide what to wear.


1. Flats, flats, flats. This one is a no brainer, but still needs a mention as I know that I myself get tempted by the lure of wearing my prettiest heels. However, the reality is that you will be walking for miles a day and need to be comfortable. I was never a trainer girl, but I wear my Vans and Converse for comfort and still feel like I look cute. I also wore ankle boots on the days I knew would be bad weather.

2. Layers, layers, layers. This was key in particular in Dublin, where one minute it was lashing down with rain and the next all was bright and beautiful. You need to have lightweight layers that you won’t mind carrying if you need to but that will also keep you warm if the sun decides to make an appearance.

3. Go simple yet beautiful. I didn’t wear anything too out there or crazy on my trip to Dublin, simply because with a small suitcase you have to mix and match what you can wear. However, I chose simple pieces that had beautiful details, such as the lace and thrills on the white top photographed. That top can just as easily be worn around the shops on a daytime as it can be around bars on a night time. My main bit of advice would be to think of pieces that are a little more unusual, that are multifunctional, that have a few little details that make them stand out and wear those.

4. Big up the bag. This is a rule I am going to take with me for the next time I travel – you need a decent sized handbag or bag. When you’re walking around a city all day, you might need a drink and don’t want to carry that all the time. You might want to take off a layer and have somewhere to store it. You might have purchased a gift that you need to put away… the list of reasons why a good sized bag is needed goes on and on. I would still take a handbag, probably a simple black one that will easily coordinate with any outfit, but I’d take a fairy large one so I can use it for all of my needs throughout a day. 

5. Print it up! Prints are so, so versatile. They add an edge and a point of interest to any outfit. My paisley dress I simply teamed up with a pair of leggings and pumps and instantly felt like I looked a little cooler and more colourful. My floral jacket added colour and edge to a simple pair of jeans and a tshirt. Prints do all the talking in an outfit and make what is actually a very simple outfit look a whole lot more interesting and stylish.
If you’d like to know where any of the items photographed are from, please feel free to leave a comment. 

What are your wardrobe tips for travelling?

4 thoughts on “What To Wear On A City Break

  1. Along with big bags, I also like to bring an empty stainless steel mug with me because then I can make tea/coffee before leaving in the morning and fill it up with water during the day. We usually make a stop in the afternoon for caffeine and quick break – then I only have to buy an expensive drink once oppose to twice a day! Along with layers – scarves, necklaces, and a belt can completely change a look! A long top or cardigan can be belted to make a dress with shorts under; taking a look from day to night!

    Like

Leave a Reply

