Reasons Why

I’m hoping to start my own sideproject soon, something I am passionate about. I’m in the research, planning and finalising stage. I have a prototype and market research done already. I’m excited, feverish, desperate to make my dreams come true. I am a full time teacher and all the people I have told about my potential venture love it but say one thing – “why do it? Will you have enough time?”

I know that my already stretched free time will only become more stretched, but I feel like there are so many reasons to do this that I can’t not at least try.

1. I am more than just a teacher. I spend so much of my time answering to ‘Miss’ that I sometimes think it’s my real name. When people ask me about myself my first response is ‘I’m a teacher’ and then I stop, even though there are so many more things I could say about myself. I love my job, but my job is not my identity. Sometimes I feel like it defines me, probably because I allow it to. I have always been a creative person and I want this side of my personality to shine more than it gets chance to.

2. Creative freedom. This point builds on from my previous point but it’s an important one. I love to draw, design, write and create. It’s my hobby and it’s my passion. I need to dedicate more time to myself and those interests. Being creatives allows me a freedom I don’t get any other way and I feel compelled to channel this urge for creative freedom into something productive.

3. To try something new. I have so, so many ideas and so many things I want to do in my life… so what am I waiting for? I am 23, young enough to fail and pick myself up if things don’t work out. The main thing is that I try. 

4. To become a doer. I have always been a dreamer. I can sit there for hours lost in my own thoughts. I imagine a million and one different scenarios to most situations and my nightmares/dreams are always vivid. I love that I’m a dreamer, but I want to put those dreams into reality. My life shouldn’t be for dreaming, it should be for living and doing. I’m determined to start doing.

I’m sorry that this blog post is vague and rambling. I wanted to give you an insight into what’s going on with me at the moment. I’m about to start an exciting venture, I’m in the research and planning stage and couldn’t be more excited for the future and what it holds. 

What are your big dreams?


Photo courtesy of Instagram – old screenshot so I can’t remember and credit I’m afraid!

Leave a Reply

