Ibiza Blues

It’s been raining the last few days non stop in England, which has naturally made my mind wander to sunnier climates and happier times.

Today I’m going to be describing my trip to Ibiza. I went last summer in August as part of a group of 3. We stayed in San Antonio for 4 nights.

The only thing I ever really knew about Ibiza was from an old film, Kevin and Perry go Large. It basically portrayed Ibiza as a wild, non stop party island. Before I went, all I could worry about was getting no sleep and being a party pooper because I couldn’t cope with music being that loud all the time!

Now I’m not a party girl. Sure I like to go out and see my friend and having the odd cocktail is great, but crawling in at 6am and sleeping all day isn’t really my scene. So when I was looking for a holiday with 2 friends last year, my preconceptions made sure that Ibiza wasn’t top of my list of destinations, but we found a cheap deal and that’s where we ended up going.

And it was one of the best trips of my life. My entire opinion about the place U- turned  from the moment I landed. 

I wasn’t prepared for how chilled Ibiza was. Sure there’s music playing everywhere and if you want you can go out all day every day in an alcohol fuelled frenzy, but ibiza is also so casual. Everyone seems to be smiling and just having the best time.

We stayed in San Antonio which I was told was a ‘party’ place, but we found it surprisingly calm. Every day we walked along a beautiful beach front, past shops and restaurants and bars that you could see anywhere in Europe. No one was running around drunk at midday or shouting or fighting. It wasn’t raucous or wild, it was a relaxing, stunning place.

We did venture to the other side of the island to see Avicci at Ushuaia. What an experience! I don’t really like ‘dance’ music, but even I was singing and dancing away. Drinks cost €16 a time which was expensive, but for a once in a lifetime experience who can complain?


Ushuaia 

My ultimate Ibiza destination though is Ocean Beach. It is without a doubt one of the best things I have ever been to! Essentially it is one giant pool party with amazing DJs and performers. 

Researching online made Ocean Beach sound ridiculously expensive, and the truth is that it can be. Hiring beds and loungers can cost into the hundreds, but for average joes like me just going, sitting around the pool and being part of the atmosphere was more than enough. 

Another worry about Ocean Beach I had before I went there was “what the hell do I wear?!” Ocean Beach is a spot favoured by celebrities and a quick Instagram search will show you how amazing people look there, but there are also a lot of ‘normal’ people who go there too. I wore my nicest bikini and I didn’t feel out of place at all. 

Cocktails here cost €15 but they were strong so I didn’t feel too ‘ripped off’. We went when Lovely Laura was playing, so she played her saxophone on a float in the middle of pool. We then got to meet her afterwards and she is as lovely as her name suggests!


The beauty that is Ocean Beach

Other than the going to sample some of Ibiza’s nightlife, we did a lot of walking. One of the nicest things I saw in Ibiza was their sunsets. If you walk to the far side of San Antonio in the opposite direction of Ocean Beach, there is a spot where people go to watch the most beautiful sunset. You can hire boats from there to watch it from the sea, or sit on the beach to watch it like we did.


Ibiza sunset

All in all, my Ibiza holiday was one of the best trips I have been on. I came back thinking totally differently about the place and I would love to go back there. I’m sure if I wanted to go on a mad session holiday that I could in Ibiza, but I found that I could also go on a chilled, fun, girly holiday too. It’s a beautiful place and one that I would recommend for any girls trip.

Where is your ultimate holiday destination?

Leave a Reply

