10 Years Down The Line

This post was a ‘challenge’ post from the wonderful Colors of my Life. I was asked to write this post a few days ago, but I found myself needing a little more time to think of what to write, which at first worried me seen as I am someone who likes to plan a lot. I live my life by going for goals, but when it came to thinking of where I want to be in 10 years time I needed a bit of thinking time.

10 years is an awfully long time, especially when you’re 23 and 10 years is more or less half of the life you have lived so far. So much has happened already and I’ve come such a long way from who I was 10 years ago that to look 10 years into my future seemed almost impossible. But after a lot of soul searching and assessing who I wanted to become and my priorities, finally I feel like I have got there. Here is my 10 years from now wishlist:

 

Anywhere But Here

I come from a city in the north of England that is dilapidated to say the least. Everything about this place looks downtrodden and weary, and that mood seems to seep it’s way into the people that live here. It’s a place that traps people. I’ve seen it time and time again. It’s so easy to fall from one dead end job to another then suddenly hit fifty and realise you haven’t done anything with your life. That scares me. One of my biggest goals in life is to leave this place. I’m currently saving like crazy to fund my ‘great escape’, but to think where I’d be in 10 years time was a little difficult.

Ideally I would like to move to Australia and build a life there. I have family over there and every time I have visited I have fallen in love with the place. It’s where I feel settled and safe. It’s my dream home.

However, in 10 years time I’d like to have a family and I’m not so sure that I could take away future grandchildren from my parents. I know my parents would visit and that the internet makes long distances seem not so huge, but when I think of them not being there for key events like birthdays, something pulls in my chest.

For now Australia is the dream and where I am working to get to, but in 10 years time with (hopefully) a family, I’m not so sure where I’ll be. One thing I do know though is that it will be anywhere but here.

oz

 

Published

Ever since I can remember, all I have wanted to be is an author. It’s my single biggest career aspiration. I want to write something that resonates, that someone can connect to, that helps someone. The majority of my free time is spent with a pen in my hand. To be able to forge a career out of writing and see my name on the cover of a book is my ultimate dream. I work on it as much as I can, so in 10 years time I’d like to see my name on the front cover of my very own novel.

 

Happy In My Skin

I’m a fairly content person, but I am also probably one of the most insecure people I know. Being bullied about a birthmark on your forehead can do that to a person, I guess. As I’ve got older I’ve tried to build a stronger relationship with myself. I try to focus on the things I do like about myself rather than the things I don’t. I invest in skincare and makeup and tools that help me feel a little bit more confident and a little more beautiful. I don’t obsess over calories or weight and instead enjoy myself.

But I still knock myself more often than I should. I have my health and I know I am lucky for that, but sometimes I catch sight of my reflection and my go to reaction is disgust. I sometimes sit and list the things about myself that I wish I could change. Birthmark, cellulite, teeth, freckles… I could go on, but that wouldn’t be in the spirit of self love.

I am getting better at appreciating who I am and how I look because I know that it isn’t all bad, but in 10 years time I would like to be able to look at myself and say ‘I look good’ even if it is makeup free with greasy hair and tired eyes. I want that kind of confidence that doesn’t require makeup or an outfit to blend into the crowd with. I want to be content with myself, birthmark and all.

 

I do, I do, I DO

I was never a little girl who planned their wedding or obsessed over finding her Prince Charming. Marriage wasn’t a big deal to me. Up until the age of eleven I had never actually been to a wedding before. My parents were married, but all that really meant to me was that they both wore a ring and my mum was Mrs not Miss.

As I’ve got older, I’ve become more aware of weddings and what they mean. It turns out that they aren’t just an expensive excuse to wear a posh dress after all. Recently my brother got married to his partner of 10 years and seeing how happy they were made me feel warm inside. Marriage is a declaration of love and devotion, a sign of commitment. I know marriage isn’t for everyone and that it isn’t necessary to be married to be committed to someone, but personally I would like to get married. In 10 years time I’d like to be sat on the sofa with Niall, happily reminiscing about our wedding. And yes I would like to have worn a beautiful dress.

 

Throwing Happiness Around Like Confetti

Worrying is a huge part of my nature and one of the things I worry about most is the happiness of those I love. I want them all to have their own dreams come true, to be proud of who they are, to be settled and ultimately to be happy.

In 10 years time I would like to be a lot less worried because I would like those I love to have all the things that they dreamed of. I want my friend who has never met someone to meet a partner who loves and respects her and brings the best out in her. I want my sister to graduate and go into an engineering career she loves and deserves after years of hard work. I want my brother and his wife to have the house of their dreams and the family they crave to share it with. I want my parents to be happy and continue to jet off on exotic holidays together, enjoying their time as a couple. I want best friend to still be with the man she loves and him be happy and healthy despite having Cystic Fibrosis. I want their happiness as much as I want my own.

16229029_567060180165978_5534113138112200704_n

 

So there you have it, my 10 years time wishlist. In 10 years time I will be 33. I am under no illusion at 33 I will have everything figured out. Even at 73 I doubt I will. But I want to be on the path to getting there. I want security, love, happiness, inner peace.

I’m sure there are lots more things that I would like to have happened in 10 years time. I have so many dreams, both big and small, and it would be wonderful to have achieved them, but the ones I have written about are my main ones. They are the things I would fight for, the things I am working hard for.

Where would you like to be in 10 years time?

4 thoughts on “10 Years Down The Line

  1. Girl, your goals list sounds a lot like mine! Being published is a huge goal, and definitely doable. Keep writing and editing and writing some more! Don’t be afraid to query for an agent to get the ball rolling. All it takes is putting yourself out there!! Best of luck on the next 10 years!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! Half of the battle I have is daring to send anything off to an agent. Writing is so personal to me that I’m scared of the judgement, but starting this blog and getting positive responses to my post is really helping boost my confidence. Who knows, maybe one day I’ll be brave enough to send something off!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

