Live music is life

When I was younger I used to sell tickets for bands. Live music was literally my life. I’d be constantly out at gigs, constantly looking for the next big thing. To this day it makes me smile when I hear a song on the radio and think ‘I knew these way before the hype’. 

There was a time when a career as a music journalist or in music promotion interested me, however one cocky lead singer with a fiancé who happpily spent his time breaking the hearts of many of my closest friends made me see a seedier side to the industry. I was expected to let it happen because that’s just what front men do, not tell his fiancé… unfortunately for him I have a very strong sense of right and wrong.

That’s where my ‘career’ in music ended, however music has always been a passion of mine. If I like a song, I love it. If I find a new artist then I want everyone to know about them. 

Over the years though I have seen less and less live music. My friends don’t have the same musical tastes as me, plus working full time in education gives me a convenient excuse to be lazy.

Last night I went to a gig. It was a local band, no one famous. A relative of mine is even the drummer. 

But I went and I loved it. I’d forgotten what it was like to be in that atmosphere, to sing along at the top of your lungs, to feel connected to a room full of strangers all there for the same thing, all engrossed in the same moment. Live music is something that cannot be bottled. You cannot relive or retell a gig, you need to be there, feeling the beat of the music pulsing in your body. A review can never do justice to the show.

Last night I was reminded of one of my first true loves, one of my biggest passions. I’m glad I was. So dear new normal – you better be prepared for more late nights, sore throats from screaming along at the top of my voice and more feeling incredibly, perfectly alive. 

Leave a Reply

